Rob Nugent, Track Announcer/Social Media/PR


POCOLA, OK (August 5th, 2017) – The twelfth points race of the season at the legendary Tri-State Speedway was a night of repeat winners with young Kayden Menasco becoming the first one to reach the five-win mark on the season. Mother Nature cooperated nicely this past week with cooler than normal temperatures and just enough rain to keep the grass green and the dirt damp.

The pre-race ceremonies kicked off at 8:07 PM with the invocation and the National Anthem.

Heat race lineups for all classes, except the IMCA Modifieds, were determined by the driver’s draw at sign in. The IMCA Modifieds followed the published rules for that class, which utilizes the driver’s point average for starting positions. The classes, that drew for their starting heat position, advanced to their features via their finish in their heats. Plus, the last heat winner in each class, other than IMCA Modifieds, drew a number for the number of cars to invert for the A Feature.

At intermission, everyone had a chance to grab themselves some of the great food items from the concession including some Menasco ribs and potato salad and an ice-cold Coca-Cola 20 oz. product to wash it all down with. Fans also had an opportunity to stop by the T-shirt booth and pick up some new track shirts by Kevin with Cuztom Graphics that were sale priced at two for only $20.


The first race on the track after intermission was the USRA B-Mod A Feature where Kevin Guinn (788 – Fayetteville, AR) went to Victory Lane for the second time this season. Daniel Tarkington (2 – Checotah, OK) crossed the line in second ahead of point leader, Lonny Flanagan (7 – Rudy, AR) in third.

The next A Feature was for the IMCA Modifieds. Point leader, Kayden Menasco (49 - Muldrow, OK), notched his fifth win of the season over Jason Peyton (6 – Greenwood, AR). Michael Hines (57M – Van Buren, AR) finished third.

The Pure Stock A Feature was next and saw the same car win for the fourth week in a row as Andrew Bohanan (51 – Stigler, OK) took home his fourth win of the season. J.R. Owen (79 – Pocola, OK) took home second place as point leader, Wesley Bourne (27X – Cameron, OK) finished in third.

The next feature on to the track was the Super Stock A Feature. Dylan Davlin (26D – Shady Point, OK) captured his third win of the 2017 season. Roy Long (4 – Stilwell, OK) crossed the finish line in second ahead of Gean Davlin (26 – Shady Point, OK).

The USRA Modifieds took to the high banks last for their A Feature. Johnny Bone, Jr. (12 – Pea Ridge, AR) was able to pick up his second win of the season over point leader, Trevor Latham (27L – Rogers, AR). George Martin (15 – Fort Smith, AR) drove a great race from deep in the field to a third place finish.

All race results, including heats are available by clicking on the Results menu. The full season point standings for each class are available by clicking on the Points menu.


Tri-State Speedway will return to action again on August 12th for a full night of heart-pounding, edge-of-your-seat point racing excitement.

Don’t forget the new starting time of 8 PM with both pit gates and grandstand gates opening at 5 PM. Driver’s meeting is at 7 PM and hot laps are scheduled for 7:30 PM.

The complete 2017 racing schedule can always be found by clicking on the Schedule menu. Also, be sure to stay up to date with us via our social media channels on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and YouTube which can be found by clicking the icons on the bottom of our website home page or by adding a “/” plus “Facebook”, “Twitter”, “Google+” or “YouTube” at the end so it looks like, etc.

We will see YOU soon! 

• USRA Modified Fall Classic presented by Bravado Wireless on August 30th, September 1st and 2nd, 2017. More information will be released soon.

 Follow Tri-State Speedway

1705 W. Race Track Road
Pocola, OK 74902

Track info • Promoter • Sponsorship • Advertising:
[email protected]
(918) 575-1369

Tech Inspector • Mike Smith:
[email protected]
(918) 721-3123